It has been brought to my attention how severely I have neglected my blog, but then, that statement assumes I was unaware, that this blog had simply slipped from my mind like that old Republica CD I was so into in the sixth grade until being foisted back into my awareness in a chance encounter with it at a thrift store, prompting two solid days of listening to “Ready to Go.” No, in all truthfulness, this blog has been very much upon my mind, but my creative and spiritual energies have been quite otherwise engaged. And not engaged.

Among my worries this last month or so have been the death, and subsequent funeral of my uncle Charlie, a wedding in Virginia, and the completion of one issue of Stronghold and the beginning of two others (one of which has finally entered production stages). Work still occupies much of my time, and when I get home, I am likely more inclined to pop in a Simpsons DVD than engage in the difficult and often-thankless work of scouring the internet, my books, and my mind in the pursuit of things to discuss.

And it’s not from a lack of effort, though; this last month has been one of intense reading. Since last we spoke, I have read The Glorious Cause: The American Revolution 1763-1789, Peter Kreeft’s Between Allah and Jesus: What Christians Can Learn from Muslims, Orson Card’s Red Prophet, C.S. Lewis’ Out of the Silent Planet and G.K. Chesterton’s Orthodoxy, which I finished today. Unfortunately, these are rich texts which are simply sitting there, stewing in my mind for want of good conversation to tease them out.

I cannot stress how much this blog depended on conversations I had with people, with little ideas turning into immense meditations. The chief difficulty I have had since moving up here is an isolation from the Catholic social sphere I had that fostered and abetted my love of a good talk in which Things Are Considered. I suppose college is spoiling in that regard.

It is hereby the vow, though, of This Blogger to never let Saint Superman lay so long fallow.

